Shhhhhh-Common gartersnake

Oh snakes….like most people, I used to be terrified of them. But I decided to get over my fear in grade school. I specifically remember during an assembly going and touching a boa and thinking, WOW not scary or slimy at all, just cool. And since then, I have grown to love snakes. My husband also shakes his head, because I find them everywhere and always try to pick them up. I usually get pee/poohed and musk, but it is always worth it.

If you ever find a snake on a high traffic bike path, or road, please help it along. If you are afraid/unsure of how to pick it up, then just chase it from behind, or use a stick to gently poke it where you want it to go-preferably into a safe grassy area.

 

Hope this information helps and you guys are learning lots!

 

Sarrah

About Sarrah

I am a wildlife biologist with a great passion for wildlife, including conservation and public educations. Through my years, I have come to realize many of peoples' concerns about wildlife has to do with a lack of knowledge about their behaviour and needs...this is where I think I can help.
This entry was posted in Reptiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shhhhhh-Common gartersnake

  1. upnorthwildlife says:

    Very cool blog. I also love doing this type of stuff and I am also in fact in southern Ontario Canada. I love going to the forests and photographing wildlife. If you can, please check out my blog šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

